Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel. These are a system of seven energy centers located along the spine. Each chakra that corresponds to an area of the body, a set of behavioral characteristics and stages of spiritual growth. Practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you to align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed. Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakras through yoga and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body and spirit.

There are seven chakras, each associated with a different part of the body along the spine from the perineum to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a color, a central emotional/behavioral issue, as well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, rights, etc.  Each chakra also affects different organs in the body.


The seven chakras are:

Muladhara– (Root Chakra) base of the spine or perineum, kidneys, bladder, large Intestine, rectum, and adrenals.

  • Survival
  • Security
  • Stability
  • Foundation
  • Grounded

Svadhisthana– (Sacral Chakra) abdomen, genitals, lower back/hip, ovaries, uterus, and prostrate.

  • Sexuality
  • Relationships
  • Creativity
  • Sensuality
  • Emotional Awareness

Manipura– (Solar Plexus Chakra) Stomach, diaphragm, spleen, liver, gall bladder, small intestine, and pancreas.

  • Confidence
  • Self-esteem
  • Vitality
  • Purpose
  • Self-control

Anahata– (Heart Chakra) heart, shoulders, upper back, breastbone, thymus, and lungs.

  • Love
  • Happiness
  • Jealousy
  • empathy
  • compassion
  • forgiveness

Vishuddha- (Throat Chakra) Throat, neck, speech organs, thyroid, and lungs (voice and volume)

  • Voice
  • Communication
  • Freedom of expression
  • Speaking the truth
  • Listening

Ajna– (Third Eye Chakra) brow, eyes, hindbrain, midbrain, pituitary gland, pineal gland.

  • Mental clarity
  • Cognition
  • Awareness
  • Perception
  • Spiritual communication

Sahasrara– (Crown Chakra) Top of the head, cerebral cortex, thalamus, pineal gland, and the energy force above the body.

  • Spiritual consciousness
  • Transformation
  • Enlightenment
  • Awareness
  • Faith/spirituality
  • Wisdom


This spiritual energy is known as Kundalini energy. In its dormant state, it can be visualized as a coiled up snake resting at the base of your spine, the Muladhara chakra. Since the chakras act as valves or pumps regulating the flow of energy through your system, controlled and purposeful movements such as yoga or meditation can be extremely beneficial in realigning your chakras in a way that can cause great benefits to you in your physical and emotional wellbeing. By balancing the energy among all seven of the chakras, balance can be achieved.